Back to All Events


  • Purcell Room Southbank Centre London SE1 8XX (map)

STRAVINSKY Concerto in E flat 'Dumbarton Oaks'
J.S. BACH Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major BWV 1048
HEINRICH BIBER Battalia à 10
JOHN ADAMS Shaker Loops

Covent Garden Sinfonia
Ben Palmer

CG Sinfonia - Quark Dances.jpg

An exhilarating musical journey taking in Biber, Bach, Stravinsky, John Adams and Cheryl Frances-Hoad.

Cheryl Frances-Hoad’s five-movement ballet suite Quark Dances, written for the Rambert Dance Company, is heard in the context of the two works that inspired it, Stravinsky’s neoclassical Dumbarton Oaks and Bach’s joyful Third Brandenburg Concerto. Together, the three works make up Mark Baldwin’s triptych inspired by the origins of the cosmos, The Strange Charm of Mother Nature, premiered at Sadler’s Wells in 2014. 

This musical thread is complemented by Heinrich Biber’s astonishingly modern Battalia, a depiction of battle brimming with special effects and polytonal layers, partnered with the mesmerising patterns of one of the twentieth century’s landmark works, John Adams’s meditative minimalist classic, Shaker Loops.

Tickets: £22 • £16 • 25% concessions available
Box office: 020 3879 9555
Book online